It’s Race Season!

Two races in one week and a third one coming up.  All of a sudden it’s race season here in Michigan!

I enjoy running all year but I especially enjoy race season so I can try to beat my past times in 5ks, 10ks and half-marathons.  Tuesday I ran a decent time in the Grand Prix Shakedown 5k on Belle Isle in Detroit.  Even though my 24:31 was only good enough for tenth in my division, it was fun to run with several teammates from work. (Especially since I beat almost all of them even though I am 20+ years older).

OAR2Then today was one of my favorite events, the 36th Annual Oak Apple Run 10k in Royal Oak.  I still have my T-shirt from the first annual, although it is a little snug (not a lot).  This morning my 7:58 pace earned me a fourth place finish in my division of 28 with a 49:26.

logo_KonaRun13Next Saturday is the Kona Run in Northville, a hilly but fun 10k race.  Then after three races in 12 days I think I’ll take a few weeks off from races in order to get some long runs in to keep my base up.  But then I’ll be trying to beat my PRs again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

