Accidents can Happen

I was reminded earlier this week that no matter how careful I think I’m being, accidents will happen.  With 10″-12″ of snow on our roads since last Friday I was on the treadmill over the weekend.  Then it looked like the roads were clear enough for running Monday and Tuesday but I was still extra careful and, in fact, cut one run short when I was losing footing on the turns.  So I didn’t think I had anything to worry about when I was out shoveling the walk just to widen the path a little.  Then as I was walking to put the shovel back in the garage my boot kicked an uneven brick in the walk and down I went, right on my kneecap.  Man, that hurt!  I have a nice blueish- green kneecap and pain when I bend it but it doesn’t appear to be more than a bruise.  I’ve reduced my miles a little the last few days on the treadmill to hopefully help it heal a little quicker but it still hurts.

I know I’m lucky I only got a bruised kneecap and not a broken wrist or worse from the fall.  I was concerned about running on the snow and ice but it was walking that got me. 

Accidents can (and will) happen.  Be ready.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

